jump to navigation

Sunday movie June 17, 2007

Posted by ash in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am not the kind of person who knows how to write a good movie review, especially when I can’t really explain why I like a particular film most of the time.

What I go for in a movie is the feel and the cinematography. (Not applicable to mainstream blockbusters) This sounds vague but I am often able to decide quite quickly whether a film does it for me just by watching the first few minutes. If a movie is my type of movie, it would most probably have captured my attention with its special starting line, use of colors or the movie’s atmosphere. This was the case when I watched films like Chungking Express, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Lost in Translation and Millions, just to name a few.

Today I watched a film which I liked immediately. It’s a Japanese film called “Kamome Diner” (かもめ食堂) which is set in Finland. The plot may be minimal but the mood of the movie is light and character development is interesting. Although most parts of the movie take place in the diner “Kamome” (with IKEA-styled furnishings), it never gets boring. The languages used are a mixture of Finnish and Japanese yet there is no feeling of mismatch. Actress Satomi Kobayashi plays her part with such grace and stability that I can’t think of anyone else that may be more fitting for that role. The other 2 actresses, Hairi Katagiri and Masako Motai looked ordinary to me at first but both turned in excellent performances. The chemistry between the 3 actresses is fascinating, they are so very different but together they create a harmonious trio which the audience would most likely develop an instant liking for.

I didn’t intend to write a movie review so I wouldn’t go on to talk about the plot and stuff. Anyone interested can check out the official website.

This is definitely a DVD that I want to get my hands on in the near future.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

